Parliament on the lookout for filmmakers!


Parliament is searching for filmmakers to take part in a prestigious competition with fantastic prizes on offer, and Liz McInnes MP wants Heywood and Middleton creatives to get involved.

Film the House is an annual competition which offers the opportunity to put local filmmakers in direct contact with the movers and shakers of the film industry and to have the best of UK talent take front and centre stage. Judged initially by MPs in filmmakers’ local constituencies, MP’s recommendations are then put forward for a national round of judging by industry professionals with prizes provided by the industry sponsors, which in 2017 included mentoring from professionals in the film industry, a private screening of the winners’ films for friends and family and classification of the winning films by BBFC.

Liz McInnes MP says: “The Film the House competition is a great opportunity for aspiring or experienced filmmakers here in Heywood and Middleton to win amazing prizes and to be noticed. The prizes really do promise to be the sort that money can’t buy. I know we’ve got lots of talented people here in Heywood and Middleton and I look forward to watching all the submissions. Find out how to enter and more at

Lord Puttnam, Producer of Chariots of Fire and The Killing Fields, says: “The UK has always been a hotbed of cinematic talent, which is why it’s crucial to constantly remind legislators of the importance of protecting and supporting this rich cultural economy. Film the House is an imaginative Parliamentary competition which manages to be fun whilst giving young creatives an opportunity to engage with their MPs, win fantastic prizes and all the while promote the importance of intellectual property rights. Those rights are the seed corn of your future – that being the case, I can only urge every would-be film-maker to give it a go!”

Dates for the 2018 competition are:
• 14 May 2018: Competition launch date
• 30 September 2018: Closing date for entries
• 28 January 2019: Shortlist announced
• 2 April 2019: Awards Ceremony, House of Commons, London

The categories for the 2018 competition are:
• Best Short Film (under 16)
• Best Short Film (16 and over)
• Best Script (under 16)
• Best Script (16 and over)

More information on how you can apply for the competition and the criteria for entry can be found at:

Do you like this post?

The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.